The Eightfold Path consists of eight practices:

  • right view

our actions have consequences

  • right intention

contemplation of impermanence

  • right speech

no lying, no rude speech, no telling one person what another says about him to cause discord or harm their relationship.

  • right conduct

refraining from murder, stealing, sexual misconduct

  • right livelihood

gaining one’s livelihood by benefiting others

  • right effort

guarding the sense-doors

  • right mindfulness

never be absent minded, being conscious of what one is doing

  • right meditation

continuous reexamination